VVD Goes Home with PFA Player of the Year Award

Virgil van Dijk has defeated Raheem Sterling to claim the Professional Footballers Association (PFA) Player of the Year award. Sterling was named PFA Young Player of the Year.

Anna Margaretha Marina Astrid “Vivianne” Miedema RON Arsenal Women forward, won the award for the Women player of the year.

Van Dijk beat out a host of Manchester City players aside from Sterling, including Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva, along with Reds team-mate Sadio Mane and Chelsea’s Eden Hazard to the award, which is voted on by the members of the PFA.

In addition to his defensive contributions, Van Dijk has chipped in with three goals and two assists this season for the Reds in the Premier League, while adding another two goals and two assists in the Champions League.

The centre-back is the second Liverpool player to take the award in as many years, after Mohamed Salah was named winner in 2017-18.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar